STUDYTIPS FOR COLLEGE/UNI

The biggest change in my life as a student was going from college where I was studying interior design to another college where I’m now studying real estating. These two studies are so different, just because studying interior design you didn’t have to bring heavy books to class, AND YOU FREAKING DIDN’T HAVE TO READ THE BOOKS AT ALL.

Interior design is all about learning and failing, if I could say so. It is not about if something is right or wrong (but yes of course, there are some no no’s, but you have to be learning by doing), so for me studying a more theoretical program was a big change – but I love it!

I think for me, my last semester was a little bit learning by doing, and I learnt very quickly what really worked for me and what really wasn’t working for me at all, so here is my tips on how to study and be more structured at college/uni:

1.ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS GO TO LECTURERS/CLASSES. JUST DO IT EVEN IF YOU FEEL DOWN OR SICK!
I’ve learned from previous studies that if you will miss only one lecture, especially in certain topics, you will miss so much. And for me with all my “heavy” classes this is a must! You really can’t compare a work shift with a lecture that if you’re away from school one day, everything will be fixed when you come back, just because it won’t! You’ll get so far behind, and that is never a good feeling. I’m probably the person who is so scared to call in sick from both work and school and I’m always pushing myself a little extra so I don’t have to do more school work than necessary.

I’ve always been kind of “go to school, get through the day, slept a few hours when you get home” type, and today, I thank myself so muchfor it. Put on your workout clothes for the day, fill a bottle with refreshing iced water with lemon juice and have aspirin if you’ll need it, go to lecture and hold your head up high! If I can do it, you can do it.

2. NEVER SAY “I’m going to do that later on!”
Cause it will never ever happen. Don’t take that “5 minute powernap” until you’re done with all you have to do, just because 5 minutes will be 4 hours – been there, done that!

3. MAKE SUMMARIES:
I’m a total freak when it comes to this: Mindmaps, notes, and so on. I just love it, and it will make you remember more clearly! I actually never takes my macbook to school, just because I just want to focus on the lecture and don’t get distracted by social media.

4. USE COLORS
I don’t like colours. But when it comes to notes and mind maps I need colours. Like pens and markers. Colours make me remember more clearly. A little tip is to colorcoordinate the subjects or certain words that are more important than other.

5. BE PREPARED FOR THE SUBJECTS THAT YOU’RE PROFFESOR IS GOING TO TALK ABOUT.
I’m always reading the chapter that the lecture is going to be about on my way to school. And if you have small tasks that will help you understand the subject, always write notes to it. Another tip is also to always print out the powerpoints and take it with you to the lecture. My eyes always get so tired while looking at the screen, so I’m always just looking at the papers I’ve printed out with the powerpoint slides, and I’m also taking notes on it – so I can focus on what the professor is saying and not if I am fast enough to write everything down.

6. HAVE A FOLDER FOR EACH COURSE/CLASS.
This semester I have 4 different courses, and I already have a folder for each course. Having folders are so extremely important – I can’t even explain it to you guys. Having a system in every little detail is so important, especially when it comes to the exams. So this si what I always do: In advance I already know that the subject is divided in 13 different tasks that we can get on our exam, for example a tast about motivation or perception. Therefore I have also divided up the folder for every subject using small markers so I know when the next subject starts, and where I can find the papers to the subject. It really comes in handy when you’re getting prepared for the exam, so you don’t have to waste a lot of time just because you can’t find the mindmap.

7. TREAT YO’SELF!
Make goals, and if you achieve them, buy the expensive shoes that you’ve been wanting for so long! Just cause you’ve been working so hard for it. It totally motivates me – and you should try it as well!

8. PREPARE YOUR WEEK
Invest in a planner, write to do lists, and of course use cute stickers, colours and make plans on what you have to do for the whole week. Always remember to be realistic to yourself and DO NOT EVER MAKE GOALS THAT YOU KNOW YOU’LL NEVER GET THROUGH WITH!

9. FIND THE ROUTINE THAT SUITS YOU
Something that works for me may work for you as well, or it will not. I think that a study routine should . You know yourself so much better than everyone else, and you got the answer on what really works for you. Just try out different stuff, and if there is something that really works for you, do it – if there is something that doesn’t work for you, skip it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

